There are different types of vegetarian diets:
‘Pescatarian’ vegetarians avoid eating any type of animal flesh, except for seafood.
‘Lacto-ovo’ vegetarians avoid eating any type of animal flesh, including seafood. (However they still eat dairy products and eggs).
‘Ovo’ vegetarians do not eat meat, seafood or dairy, but they do eat eggs.
Vegans do not eat any type of animal flesh or seafood, nor do they eat dairy or egg products.
Raw vegans do not eat any type of animal flesh, seafood, dairy or eggs, and they also don’t eat food that has been heated above 46 degrees Celsius. Known as ‘raw foodists’, these people believe that foods cooked above this temperature lose their nutritional value and are harmful to the body.